Mary Herrington
Teacher of the Year


Jh Campus Calendar
Upcoming Events
Contact Information
Buna Junior High School
P.O. Box 1087
Buna, Texas 77612

Campus Hours:
Monday - Friday 
7:30am - 3:30pm

Phone: (409)994-4860
Buna Junior High

The Buna Junior High band concert has been rescheduled for this Friday evening in the Activity Center at 6:30 p.m. ‚Äč

There are currently no announcements.
Amber Flowers
Assistant Principal
Chris McKinley
Lacy Girola
Principal's Secretary/Registrar
Cindy Reynolds
JoDella Clark
Attendance Clerk
Darla Clark
Stephanie Gilbert
Mary Cortez

Junior High School
Main Office:  409-994-4860



Solid Foundations Basketball Camp

June 5 – 8, 2017

9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

M.N. Cotton Robinson & R.C. Hyden Activity Center

Girls & Boys Entering 2nd Grade – Entering 9th Grade

$45 Camper

Sibling Discount ($5 off each additional sibling)

Instruction by Boys and Girls Varsity Head Basketball Coaches

Camp T-shirt for every camper

For More information Call Bryan Whitmire

409-720-7727 or


Registration forms can be mailed to:

Bryan Whitmire

245 CR 780

Buna, TX 77612



















7th graders Mark Hannaman and Alexis Hall were chosen as student finalists to represent Buna Jr. High School for the "Do the Write Thing Challenge." Over 2,000 essays were submitted this year in which many compelling stories and solutions to the problem of violence were shared. There is a Region V boy and girl student finalists chosen from each campus. These students, along with their parents, teachers and school principal will be invited to an awards banquet on Monday, April 24th in Beaumont. 
Alexis Hall was also chosen as the girl Ambassador for our region! Along with her parents and teacher, Mrs. Teri Wolfe, will be invited to attend the "Do the Write Thing Challenge" National Recognition Week in Washington DC July 22-26, 2017. They will attend a special recognition ceremony at Union Station where many important people and sponsoring celebrities speak about the importance of ending violence. There is a dinner at the Kuwait Cultural Center, and a special tour of the Supreme Court and Capitol Hill where they will meet with our Congressman. 
Mrs. Wolfe writes, "This will be an experience Alexis will remember for the rest of her life. She is the perfect student to represent not only our district, but our region as well. I am looking forward to being a part of National Recognition Week for the second time as a teacher. I'm thrilled that a student from Buna Jr. High was chosen as a National Ambassador and I am very proud of both Mark and Alexis for being chosen as finalists!"


Congratulations to the Buna Junior High students placing at the South Texas State Fair art show:

1st place - Justin Stanley
2nd place - Mattie Carpenter
3rd place - Tori Clark
4th place - Jocelyn Harding
Teacher - Mrs. Baxley



 2017-2018 BJHS Cheerleaders

Co-captain: Makenzie Latham

Co-captain: Asia Robinson

                      Cassidy Askew                                                    

Gracie Gomez

Raylynn Sitton

Emerie Withers

Ashlyn Everett

Jayci Castie

Raylee Clark

Caitlyn Grisham

Madison Lynch

Tylee Rawls


Mascot: Bryson Derr



     Congratulations to our Science Fair winners!

6th Grade:

1st-Hagen Freeman

2nd-Kaden Altenried

3rd-Ammani Robinson, Alex Pullen, Michaela Lorenz

4th-Sarah Thrasher

5th -Ayden Sanders, Noah Harrison

    6th-Xavier Lebouef, Krysta Davis

                                                                     Honorable Mention – Wyatt Lejeune


                                                                                       7th Grade:

1st-Justin Alston, Dalton Helm

2nd-Jordan Clark, Kaydie Chambliss

3rd-Hollis Peach

4th-Kadence Church, Lacey Hall

5th-Jack Broughton, Kolton Smith

6th-Brooke Mitchell, Chloe Marks




8th Grade

1st-Logan DelPino

2nd-Mark Davis, Kristian Johnson, Reece Monson

3rd-Presley Glende, Rylee Burt, Hannah Hammonds

4th-Jakob Sumrall, Michael Lynch

5th-Elizabeth Bivens

6th-Kaleb Humble


The Perfect Attendance Winners for the 4th Six Weeks, receiving $50:


6th grade - William Harding

7th grade - McKenna West

8th grade -  Zachariah Taplin